Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

User avatar
Adriaan
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2012 5:18 pm

Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Adriaan » Wed Jun 05, 2013 10:10 am

Hey all.

For those who received this error, here is a guide how to get through it, and to keep you guys up to date with technical improvements on this issue.

There may be 2 reasons why you can't play the game:

1. You're on a laptop, have a graphics card that does meet the minimum requirement, but you also have a graphics card that doesn't meet the minimum requirement, and the standard settings is on the second graphics card.
SOLUTION: Switch to your more powerful graphics card. How that should be done depends on your laptop, and you're quickest of google-ing it. You can check your graphics cards in the device manager from Windows (Commonly under Display Adaptors).

2. Your graphics card does not meet the minimum requirements, most likely because it does not support the Highdef XNA minimum settings.
SOLUTION: I'm sorry, but you'll have to wait. :( Just know that Bas is working on this issue full time. The ETA of fixing this, to play it safe, is 3 months. To why this issue occurs, and what we're doing on fixing this, please continue reading!


The issue occurs because of the XNA minimum requirement sets. XNA has 2 possible configurations: HighDef and Reach. XNA rates your graphics card depending on which minimum set is met. The problem here is that we have pretty big textures (hundreds of animal animations, with different zoom levels), which is supported by almost any graphics card, but is above the Reach minimum.
Therefor, XNA will say you NEED the HighDef minimum, which means directX 10. So if your computer is super fine, and could easily run Reus, but doesn't support directX 10, XNA says that your game cannot run Reus.This is particularly frustrating for both you and for us, because we aren't exclusively using any directX 10 features!

Since XNA is being discontinued, our only solution is to, well, remove the whole XNA thing from Reus. Since it's the very core foundation of the game, we need to rewrite a whole load of code, in particular the content pipeline, but we'll probably encounter other XNA problems on the way. Fixing this just takes time, and to play it safe we'll just say it will take about 3 months. Probably less, but we don't know what we can encounter.

JUST KNOW THAT THE HARDCORE PROGRAMMERS ARE WORKING ON THIS EXCLUSIVELY TO FIX THIS AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!! ANY OTHER PATCHES ARE MADE WITHOUT THEM!!
The only luck in this is that breaking XNA is also a big part of porting it to Mac and Linux, so those two things go hand in hand.

Any patches that might arrive before this is fixed are made by me (designer), artists and manuel (gameplay programmer), and are not at the cost of making this work as quickly as possible.

Hopefully this thread will increase your insight in the problem, and help relieve the frustration a little. Sorry for the inconvenience, and thanks for your patience!

User avatar
KrazziGlu
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:26 pm
Location: NEW YORK!!
Contact:

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby KrazziGlu » Tue Jul 23, 2013 9:00 pm

This really does help, thanks. I saw this on steam, lead me to abbey games. http://steamcommunity.com/app/222730/di ... 473461/#p3
I usually check my requirements before i buy a new game, but my computer has surprised me before. I thought i'd chance it, and at the worst I get my win 7 (more ram, and dx10) in a few weeks. :P thanks again! :P

popcom
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 9:13 am

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby popcom » Thu Aug 08, 2013 9:17 am

got the game working by simply opening the graphics properties and checking for driver updates for the adapter

Steps1000
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Steps1000 » Sat Sep 14, 2013 8:04 am

Any news on this?

Humpers96
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Humpers96 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 2:21 am

So it's been a fair while now since this thread was posted and a few months over the ETA, could we please have an update on this? I've been waiting to play this game for about 6 months now and, with all due respect, I can;t say I'm happy with the amount of information that has been provided about the conversion from XNA. So any helpful feedback would be nice, thanks!

User avatar
Touriste
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 2:20 am
Location: France, Ile de France

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Touriste » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:01 pm

Hello Humpers, I understand your concern, Adriaan updated the topic about this issue on Steam Hub, here is link directed to the thread
or the paste :

AdriaanTheHatMan wrote:As you probably noticed by now, we ran into new problems with the port and system requirement lowering. We tried to fix this ourselves, but we simply failed to fix it.

Of course, we think it's unacceptable that people who bought the game cannot play it. So we decided to hire a group of professional porters to fix the port and system requirement lowering. By now it's obvious we weren't up to this challenge yet.

We believe it's our responsibility to bring people fun and leisure, and for some people we clearly only brought frustrations and false hopes (including ourselves, ironically). We offer our sincere apologies to everyone whose day was more frustrated because of us. All we can offer now is the idea that this issue is now in the hands of people who know what they're doing with the port better than we do. We learned from our mistakes, and are making steps to avoid such blatant mistakes in the future.

I also want to thank you all for your patience and coolness. We are avid gamers ourselves, and we know the feeling of not getting what was promised. In those situations, we often reacted worse than you people! We would have never dreamt to be on this side of the problem, but we'll fully commit to this never happening again.

Once again our apologies, and we hope we can still bring some Reus-leisure in the near future. We will keep you guys updated with the status reports the hired party has for us.

Humpers96
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 6:39 pm

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Humpers96 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:29 pm

Touriste wrote:Hello Humpers, I understand your concern, Adriaan updated the topic about this issue on Steam Hub, here is link directed to the thread
or the paste :

AdriaanTheHatMan wrote:As you probably noticed by now, we ran into new problems with the port and system requirement lowering. We tried to fix this ourselves, but we simply failed to fix it.

Of course, we think it's unacceptable that people who bought the game cannot play it. So we decided to hire a group of professional porters to fix the port and system requirement lowering. By now it's obvious we weren't up to this challenge yet.

We believe it's our responsibility to bring people fun and leisure, and for some people we clearly only brought frustrations and false hopes (including ourselves, ironically). We offer our sincere apologies to everyone whose day was more frustrated because of us. All we can offer now is the idea that this issue is now in the hands of people who know what they're doing with the port better than we do. We learned from our mistakes, and are making steps to avoid such blatant mistakes in the future.

I also want to thank you all for your patience and coolness. We are avid gamers ourselves, and we know the feeling of not getting what was promised. In those situations, we often reacted worse than you people! We would have never dreamt to be on this side of the problem, but we'll fully commit to this never happening again.

Once again our apologies, and we hope we can still bring some Reus-leisure in the near future. We will keep you guys updated with the status reports the hired party has for us.

Ah, thanks very much! Cleared up a fer questions I had about the subject. Is there an ETA at all? Or should I just come back and check fairly frequently? (that was not meant to sound sarcastic I promise)

User avatar
Touriste
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 2:20 am
Location: France, Ile de France

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Touriste » Wed Nov 06, 2013 5:52 pm

For now they can't even give a vague ETA, so I guess just come back and check fairly frequently :) (each week for example)

Nyraius
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Nyraius » Fri Jan 24, 2014 9:32 pm

But I waited a year to play what is probably my favorite game :( . Can you guys please at least tell me your progress? I was one of the first people to buy this game :D.




Thank You,
Nyraius

User avatar
Touriste
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 2:20 am
Location: France, Ile de France

Re: Game won't start/No suitable graphics card was found

Postby Touriste » Sun Jan 26, 2014 12:05 pm

@Nyraius
Porting is on its way to completion, it just take a lot of time more than expected first.
You can follow the news on Steam Discussion hub ( http://steamcommunity.com/app/222730/discussions/ ) since it's done by a third company, news won't be posted fast on this forum I guess (for now) :)


Return to “Technical Support”