Abbey Games has a new community and forums! Come on over to https://community.abbeygames.com and don't forget to mention your old username! The old forums will remain available, but read-only.

Game programming, Is it too hard?

Qustinnus

Game programming, Is it too hard?

Post by Qustinnus » Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:46 pm

I'm only 14 now, But i've gamed for 12 years and am really interested in once going into the game programming bussiness myself, Although i have no experience i wonder if it's possible to learn how to code now so it's easier for me when i actually go to a school for it, I can't really find some good advice and barely have any experience, But i want to learn now so i can start-up for my future. Any tutorial i find on youtube is pretty much copy pasting lines of code, Which isn't really effective... Please tell me where i should start (Which will probably be learning something like HTML to get the basics, Huh? =,=) Thanks beforehand.

JustSmall

Re: Game programming, Is it too hard?

Post by JustSmall » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:35 pm

I can't give you an answer to your question because I barely have any programming experience but I don't think this post belongs into Reus<General, Offtopic<Offtopic is more appropriate for this.

Qustinnus

Post by Qustinnus » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:40 pm

JustSmall wrote:I can't give you an answer to your question because I barely have any programming experience but I don't think this post belongs into Reus<General, Offtopic<Offtopic is more appropriate for this.
Oh right sorry! Damn i'm an egghead, I'm used to this other forum with offtopic>General instead. Sorry for that, hehe.

Maarten

Post by Maarten » Tue Apr 02, 2013 11:36 pm

Now is the perfect time to start!

You could download Game Maker. It gradually learned me the basics of programming, first through drag and drop actions, then through code. Game Maker is used often in the industry for prototyping, but also for creating whole games.