Abbey Games has a new community and forums! Come on over to https://community.abbeygames.com and don't forget to mention your old username! The old forums will remain available, but read-only.

[SOLVED] Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post Reply
beardy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:12 pm

[SOLVED] Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by beardy » Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:41 pm

Hi, I got the game in the recent Humblebundle and tried it today on my linux laptop
  • Linux Mint 14
    i5 520UM 1GHz
    Intel HD Graphics
    8GB RAM
The game runs fine and I'm now playing the tutorial (have made it to the second era :), but there is some serious problems with the graphics.

It is only when I'm playing though, menues and loading screens look great, but gameplay looks as the attached image (I hope that it will be attached, new to the forum and never used that feature before :) )

I am thinking that it is because of the crappy graphics capabilities of the CPU that the graphics in the game is wonky, but I am hoping that it is a fixable wonkyness :)
Attachments
Reus Graphics Error med.png
Graphics glitches in Reus, showing a mountain and desert
Last edited by beardy on Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Touriste
Posts: 626
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 2:20 am
Location: France, Ile de France

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by Touriste » Fri Jan 10, 2014 2:35 am

Hello !
Make sure to check this thread : http://steamcommunity.com/app/222730/di ... 093180647/
There are still a lot of issues with Mac/Linux :)

Arglanir
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:50 pm

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by Arglanir » Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:55 pm

Hello,
I'm on Windows 7, on a laptop with Intel Graphics too.
I also purchased the game on Humble Bundle today, and tested it both on Steam and without Steam (normal windows installation package), and I also have those poor graphics. So it must not come from Linux port, but more from the graphic card. Are there command line switches available to better control the video output of the game ?
Thank you anyway for this nice game, I look forward to really play it :-)

slacka
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:34 am

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by slacka » Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:39 am

Hello!

I am experiencing the same issue with glitchy graphs. I also have an Intel HD Graphics card.

Platform stats:
OS: Ubuntu 12.04
CPU: Intel i5 2nd gen
GPU: Intel HD graphics
RAM: 4 GB

Let us know if we can help!Image

Arglanir
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:50 pm

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by Arglanir » Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:34 pm

I checked my system, and I have this problem enven when the right graphic card is selected.
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650

Tim
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:43 pm

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by Tim » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:57 pm

Have you tried disabling hardware instancing in the Reus config file 'Config.xml'? Which can be found at: "C:\Users\<UserName>\Documents\Reus" in windows. For Mac OSX the file can be found at: ~/Library/Application Support/Reus.

Add the following code to either an existing 'Rendering' tag:

Code: Select all

<DisableInstancing>true</DisableInstancing>
Or create the tag if it does not exist in the file yet:

Code: Select all

<Rendering>
    <DisableInstancing>true</DisableInstancing>
</Rendering>
Let me know if this helps!

slacka
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:34 am

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by slacka » Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:46 am

Thanks Tim! That worked for me (although my laptop CPU gets quite warm while playing : )

For those wondering, I was able to find Config.xml in Linux under ~/.local/share/Reus/Config.xml

Arglanir
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:50 pm

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by Arglanir » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:51 am

Thank you! Now it works and look great! I'll finally be able to play this game :-)
Maybe a note on this in the Wiki would be appreciable.
Thank you again !

beardy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:12 pm

Re: Graphic glitches, laptop with Intel HD Graphics?

Post by beardy » Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:28 pm

That fix worked well, thank you both Tim for the fix and slacka for the linux path!

Back to the game :)

Post Reply